A Week in the Life

So, it has been about a week since I posted, and I have had a lot of blog-worthy things that have happened in the past week. I wanted to write short posts as they were happening, but last week was really crazy, so I didn’t get a chance. Then, I sat down today to write a really long blog post about EVERYTHING that has happened in the past week, and after two hours of writing and editing, I saved a draft, and none of it actually saved, so back to square one. I don’t want to spend as much time on this post, so I apologize if this post isn’t that detailed. However, I do have quite a few things to share. 1. Display Boards Last week, I was charged with the task of creating display boards that showcased the work of Year 6 students. These display boards are large poster boards that are very detailed and basically look like a giant, high quality scrapbook page. I was supposed to finish 12 within the week, and after 3 whole school days of working on them, along with 4 really artistic students, I had finished 6 and started work on the remaining backgrounds. I don’t think I had ever been so sick and tired of doing crafts and seeing glue sticks in my entire life. The girls that I had helping me were very creative and very good at doing what I asked them to do. I could not have gotten as far as I did without them. However, I did not get to finish them because of some unexpected school visitors, which brings me to point number 2. 2. OFSTED OFSTED is a mandatory school inspection that happens in each school in England at least every three years. The school gets a day notice that the inspectors are coming, and the inspectors stay for two days. They observe lessons, talk to and interact with students, staff, and parents, and even looked through student work. It was a very stressful two days, starting out with staying at school until 7:30 p.m. the nigh before the inspectors came, to ensure that everything would be perfect for the next two days. According to the administration, the inspection went pretty well, but they are not allowed to release the official judgement until the report has been published. As someone who has never experienced a school inspection before, I found it incredibly interesting… and tiring. 3. Barcelona! This past weekend, I flew to Barcelona and met up with Stef and Stef – friends from school, who are also completing the same program I am. It was the first time that we had really seen anyone from back home in about a month. Barcelona was amazing! Initially, I wasn’t even really excited to go, but I really enjoyed my time there and am absolutely glad that I went. Before, I had written awesome descriptions of each of the places I really enjoyed, but as this is my second time writing this post, I think I will just show you through pictures.

 photo 1

(Sagrada Familia – Very beautiful. It’s been under construction for over 200 years, and the detail is amazing.)

photo 3

(Magic Fountain Light Show – One of the coolest things I’ve ever seen.)

photo 4

(eyescream and friends – the cutest and tastiest ice cream in Barcelona.)

4. Volunteering As part of my program requirements, I have to do some volunteer work in the community that I’m living and teaching. I’m doing my work at a local youth center, and today was my first day. I am helping with a girls only club. Today I was able to talk to and get to know one very bright girl named Carly, and watch quite a few of the others interact with each other. The people at the youth center are all very nice, and I really like it there. Hopefully, I will continue to have a great time volunteering there on Mondays.

Well, I’m going to sign off for now. Hopefully I’ll be able to do more detailed posts for this coming week. -Steph

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “A Week in the Life

  1. Hey, nice post! I’m Cameron and I’m very interested in style and traveling. I think you would enjoy my posts; I would really appreciate a follow back! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

